Posted in Fashion, Gentleman

Luxury Leather

When deciding upon the perfect leather jacket, my rule of thumb is: brown for blondes (myself), and black for browns. Clearly this is not gospel, however speaking as a blonde haired male, I feel, not to mention look, much better in brown leather. The dark of hair Chris John Millington constantly condricts this rule, and despite looking good in brown leather, I do feel he is suited better to black jackets. 

When my father was around my age, he too had the agonising task of buying the perfect leather jacket. Processing this image of my father, a man who will only wear Craghoppers or Berghaus, sifting through for a stylish item of clothing, tickles me. Anyway, he chose a black leather jacket, of good quality and wore it with pride with his other big budget buy- a pair of black Dr Martins. For the record, I had to prise this information from my mother, as my father would likely ask which surgery this Dr Martin belongs to. My father adored this jacket, and wore it everywhere; even to my maternal grandfathers farm… to his peril. 

Due to my grandfather being of the inventive sort, he used to create lighting for his workshop out of long poles, attached to a lorry tire on the floor. Standing at around 5ft, this unorthodox looking light, was the perfect height for a coat hanger, which my father saw as fit to use. Out of pure habit, my grandfather switched on said light at a switch on the wall. Well… the inner lining of the leather jacket proceeded to combust at a fair rate of knots, and my late grandfather had the frightful task of informing his soon- to- be son- in- law, that his most treasured item had been for a dip in the inner sanctum of Mount Doom. 

From this anecdote, I learnt two valuable lessons: do not be liberal with the word coat hanger, and if you buy an expensive leather jacket, do not wear it everywhere! 

In terms of style of leather jacket, my father had a double rider (like what one will have seen the likes of James Dean wearing), however this is not a favourite of mine. I prefer the café racer style, as depicted in the image below, due to its streamline fit which, on the right person, accentuates ones figure. 

Belstaff is an icon and trustworthy brand in leather attire, with this being a recommendable place to purchase a pricier jacket. The Belstaff jacket pictured below is the Atherley jacket, and is expertly paired with beige knitwear. 

Many fashion houses, as well as many bloggers, vloggers, hoggers or whatever other names people go by now, often present bright leather with equally bright undergarments. This is not the gentlemanly way. A smart leather jacket will attract jubilation for what it is; it does not have to be forced upon the beholder with bedazzling and so forth. Phillip Plein is one example of this, where he has exhausted and arguably ruined this once staple member of the gentleman’s wardrobe. Keep it simple chaps, it looks classier that way. 

Belstaff leather jackets can be bought from http://www.tessuti.co.uk from £325. Considering the lifelong companion this product may well become, the steep price tag, is not so Himalayan after all. 

For the Atherley jacket shown below, eBay.com is the only place I can locate this item. Prices start from £1100. 

Author:

Inexpensively styling the modern day gent.

Leave a comment